Homemade Almond Chocolate Spread

I love Nutella. I could eat it right out of the jar and I can’t stop after a spoon or two. Once in my teens, I ate the entire jar and surprisingly didn’t even feel sick afterwards. Now, everyone knows that this is not healthy and that Nutella in general is a high calorie food containing giant amounts of fat and sugar. However, there have been plenty of recipes for homemade Nutella on Pinterest and I researched them quite a lot, creating my very own no-added sugar and no-added oil version. Now I have three tiny jars of homemade super-chocolaty Nutella with almonds instead of hazelnuts (less fat!) and a lower calorie count than the store bought version … it may not be the healthiest spread still but we all like to have Nutella once in a while, don’t we?

What you need (3 tiny jars with 3 servings each):

50gr ground almonds (you can substitute hazelnuts or even walnuts, I will try walnuts next time), 25gr organic cocoa powder, 3tbsp water (I was making candied orange peal at the same time for my dad’s birthday and therefore used 3 spoons of the orange brew for extra flavour), artificial sweetener to you liking (I combined both liquid and dry one – however, be careful with the liquid one as it can mess up your spread’s consistency, so only add it spoon per spoon).

Add almonds, cocoa, water and sweetener to your food processor and grind for approximately 5 minutes. Check the consistency and grind for some more time if the spread is still crumbly and not yet smooth. Fill in jars and store in the fridge for about a week. I also froze two jars. Et voilà!

NutritionLabel

One thought on “Homemade Almond Chocolate Spread

Leave a comment